Sunday, February 17


Location: Stratus Vineyards,
2059 Niagara Stone Road,
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario

Time: 6:30 pm


Canadian Jazz Master Awards Gala and Dinner

Under the auspices of the Oscar Peterson International Jazz Festival, the Annual Canadian Jazz Master Awards was founded to celebrate and honour Canadian jazz musicians of the highest artistic excellence who are deserving of national recognition.

Each year, two awards are presented to one living and one past legend of Canadian jazz. Nominees are reviewed and chosen by a rotating advisory panel of 15 jazz experts from across Canada. The artists who receive the most votes by the panel in each of the two categories become the recipients of a CJMA.

In Feburary 2018, the first awards were given to guitarist Ed Bickert, and the family of trombonist/composer/arranger Rob McConnell. A 2018 honorary award was also given to the family of Oscar Peterson.

This year’s honourees are two jazz legends. The 2019 Canadian Jazz Master Awards will be presented to clarinetist, composer, and educator Phil Nimmons and to the family of influential trumpeter and composer, Kenny Wheeler.